Nunavut Post

Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Lockheed Martin have been chosen as finalists for the FFCP program by Canada

FFCP program by Canada

Key Takeaways:

  • The Royal Canadian Air Force will receive 88 advanced fighter jets as part of the project.
  • The Canadian Government has chosen two bidders to compete in the Future Fighter Capability Project (FFCP).

The only eligible bidders are Swedish company Saab and Lockheed Martin, implying that Boeing’s F/A-18 Super Hornet Block III aircraft has been rejected.

The Canadian Government received bids from the three firms in July 2020 in response to the formal request for proposals issued in July 2019.

Also Read: Rupa Subramanya: Liberals blame inflation, leaving Canadians with fewer dollars

The FFCP project aims to provide the Royal Canadian Air Force with 88 advanced fighter jets (RCAF). Saab proposed the Gripen E, while Lockheed Martin proposed the F-35.

The next fighter for Canada will replace the country’s fleet of McConnell Douglas CF-18 Hornets. Canada will complete the next steps in the process in the coming weeks, which will also be based on further analysis of the proposals raised by Saab and Lockheed.

The process would also include final negotiations with the highest bidder or entering a ‘competitive dialogue.’

The two finalists will improve their proposals as part of the competitive dialogue. Next year, a contract award is expected, with the first aircraft arriving as early as 2025.

Saab proposed building a sensor center as part of its FFCP bid earlier this year. The proposal is part of the company’s Industrial and Technological Benefits policy in Canada. Airbus and the UK Ministry of Defence announced their withdrawal from the FFCP in September 2019.

Source: Airforce

Get Nunavut and Canada’s top News, Latest news and other News of the world only at most trustable news website of Canada Nunavut

Show More

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *