Nunavut Post

The artists participate in the 2022 edition of the Rencontres de Bamako have been revealed

Rencontres de Bamako

Key Takeaways:

  • Rencontres de Bamako Bamako Encounters, the Mali biennial dedicated to African photography and video.
  • Artists has released a list of artists who will participate in the thirteenth edition, which will take place between October 20 and December 20, 2022.

The exhibition was postponed earlier this year from its original start date of November 21, 2021.

“Maa ka Maaya ka ca yere Kono: On Multiplicity, Difference, Becoming, and Heritage” (The Persons of the Person Are Multiple in the Person), according to the organizers, will “pay a powerful honor to the plays in between, to that which rebels definition, to phases of transition, to being this and that or neither or both, to becoming, and to difference and divergence in all their shades.”

Also Read: The US has approved China for its treatment of Uyghurs

This year, it was announced that the event would include extensive retrospectives of Maria Magdalena Campos Pons, Samuel Fosso, Joy Gregory, Jo Ratcliffe, and Daoud Aoulad Syad.

Following an open call for artists of all ages and nationalities to submit their work, the organizers include Akinbode Akinbiyi, Meriem Berrada, Tandazani Dhlakama, and artist Liz Ikiriko—selected sixty-eight participating artists from across the African continent also the African diaspora.

Rencontres de Bamako; Image from Artforum

A complete list of the just-announced participating artists is below.

  • Ixmucané Aguilar (Guatemala/Germany)
  • Said Afifi (Morocco/France)
  • Baff Akoto (Ghana/UK)
  • Ishola Akpo (Benin)
  • Annie-Marie Akussah (Ghana)
  • Hunguana Americo (Mozambique)
  • Leo Asemota (Nigeria/UK)
  • Jess Atieno (Kenya)
  • Myriem Omar Awadi (La Reunion)
  • Salih Basheer (Sudan)
  • Shiraz Bayjoo (Mauritius/UK)
  • Amina Benbouchta (Morocco)
  • Hakim Benchekroun (Morocco)
  • Maite Moseka Botembe (DRC)
  • Rehema Chachage (Tanzania/Austria)
  • Uiler Costa Santos (Brazil)
  • Monica De Miranda (Angola/Portugal)
  • Fatoumata Diabaté (Mali)
  • Aicha Diallo (Mali)
  • Amsatou Diallo (Mali)
  • Sènami Donoumassou (Benin)
  • Abdessamad El Montassir (Morocco)
  • Fairouz El-Tom (Sudan/ Switzerland)
  • Adama Delphine Fawundu (Sierra Leone/USA)
  • Raisa Galofre (Colombia/Germany)
  • Nene Aïssatou Diallo (Guinea/USA)
  • Anna Binta Diallo (Senegal/Canada)
  • Mélissa Oummou Diallo (Guinea/France)
  • Binta Diaw (Senegal/Italy)
  • Adji Dieye (Senegal/Italy/ Switzerland)
  • Imane Djamil (Morocco)
  • Gherdai Hassell (Bermuda/UK/China)
  • Sana Ginwalla (Zambia)
  • Timothy Yanick Hunter (Jamaica/Canada)
  • Anique Jordan (Trinidad/Canada)
  • Gladys Kalichini (Zambia)
  • René Tavares (São Tomé or Príncipe)
  • Hamedine Kane (Senegal/Mauritius)
  • Atiyyah Khan (South Africa)
  • Thembinkosi Hlatshwayo (South Africa)
  • Letitia Huckaby (USA)
  • Mallory Lowe Mpoka (Cameroon/Canada)
  • Eve Tagny (Cameroon/Canada)
  • Nyawose Luvuyo Equiano (South Africa)
  • Nourhan Maayouf (Egypt)
  • Louisa Marajo (Martinique)
  • Gulshan Khan (South Africa)
  • Billie McTernan (Ghana)
  • Marie-Claire Messouma (Guadeloupe/Ivory Coast)
  • Arsène Mpiana Monkwe (DRC)
  • Sethembile Msezane (South Africa)
  • Seif Kousmate (Morocco)
  • Lucia Nhamo (Zimbabwe)
  • Samuel Nja Kwa (Cameroon/France)
  • Nyancho NwaNri (Gambia/Nigeria)
  • Adee Roberson (USA)
  • David Uzochukwu (Nigeria/Austria)
  • Mohammed Laouli (Morocco)
  • Maya Louhichi (Tunisia/France)
  • Sofia Rodrigues (Angola/Portugal)
  • Sackitey Tesa (Ghana)
  • Helena Uambembe (Angola/ SA)
  • Fethi Sahraoui (Algeria)
  • Muhammad Salah Abdul-Aziz (Sudan)
  • Neville Starling (Zimbabwe/SA)
  • Clarita Maria (Zambia)
  • Ebti Nabag (Sudan/Canada)
  • Elijah Ndoumbe (Cameroon/France)

Source: Artforum News

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *